Attending the National Youth Work Showcase at the Mansion House this morning. Waterford was well represented by Gearoid, Libby and Daisy. Delighted to meet our new MEP for Ireland South Grace O Sullivan. #youthworkchangeslives
— Mary Butler TD

Busy morning at the Nursing Homes and Elder Care exhibition in Punchestown. I was honoured to deliver the key note address and to meet so many service providers including the Alliance of Healthcare Providers, Ruth from Dementia Courses Ireland, Mary from Mobile XRay, Irene Treacy, Tramore “Smovey Health” and Lucie Cunningham of “The Homeshare” and Wicklow Dementia Support to name a few. Congrats to all the prize winners.

Billy Kelleher MEP

Billy Kelleher MEP

Fianna Fáil’s European Election Performance

In Ireland South Fianna Fáil  were delighted as Billy Kelleher managed to secure a seat in the European Parliament. In this election the party lost a European stalwart Brian Crowley who served as an MEP for 25 years. Billy has some big shoes to fill in Brussels, but he should be up to the task.

Fianna Fáil’s other candidate in Ireland South was Cllr Malcolm Byrne., who transferred extremely well to Billy Kelleher. Byrne also ran to retain his Council seat in the local elections securing a large vote and topping the poll.He was unlucky to miss out in Europe amassing an impressive vote.

In the Dublin constituency Barry Andrews secured the fourth seat however he will have to wait for the process of Brexit to be completed before he takes up his duties in Brussels

In the Midlands-North West constituency the two candidates Anne Rabbite and Brendan Smyth will both be disappointed in the vote secured, however these two strong politicians are sure to have better days ahead.


Fianna Fáil’s Local Election Results in Waterford

Fianna Fáil secured 7 seats in the Local elections in Waterford. The first candidate from the party elected was Cllr James Tobin completing the 5 in a row, Cllr Tobin had been written off by many before the election, however he was elected on the first count, showing that age is no barrier to the Knockanore veteran.

Cllr Tom Cronin was elected in the Dungarvan area, securing a strong vote in his native Ardmore. A candidate who is sure to continue to represent West Waterford well.

In the newly minted Portlaw/KIlmac area, Cllr John O’Leary was elected for his third term as a councillor gaining very strong support from his Ballyduff-KiImeaden base and also branching out to grab a good number of votes throughout the constituency.

Disappointingly an excellent Councillor Ray Murphy lost his seat in Portlaw as he was unlucky to lose out in a closely fought battle for the last seat. Ray is held in very high regard in the party, a honourable and dignified councillor who will be a big loss to the area.

In the Waterford city the party retained its four seats, Jason Murphy was elected in Waterford City South for his second term gaining strong support in the St Pauls boxes.

In Tramore-Waterford City East, Eamon Quinlan retained his seat also now serving his second term on the council.

In Waterford City East both Cllr Adam Wyse and Cllr Eddie Mulligan were elected, both polled at a similar rate and will provide strong representation in the area.

Other candidates including Anne-Marie Rossiter, Sean French and Rita Lacey unsuccessful in their campaigns.